The Executive Board

Executive Director:


Stephen originally started college to become a registered human nurse but did not enjoy working with humans as patients. Instead Stephen became an RVT and then obtained certification as a Surgical Research Anesthetist through the Academy of Surgical Research followed by the designation of a Registered Laboratory Animal Technician through the American Association of Laboratory Animal Science soon after. Most recently he became one of the first Veterinary Cannabis Counselor Specialists in the country while continuing to educate veterinary professionals on safe and effective use of cannabis in the clinical setting. Stephen is the Executive Director for the Academy of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians and Nurses, holding a VTS credential in Research Anesthesia. His regular daytime position is at ElleVet Sciences as the Director of Education and Development, as well as a private consultant. He occupies his remaining time writing book chapters, and is an award winning international lecturer . He enjoys teaching and serves on advisory boards for local Vet Tech colleges, is on the Aratana Technician Council of Pain Experts, a key opinion leader for multiple pharmaceutical/device companies, COO for the Veterinary Anesthesia Nerds and Veterinary Cannabis Academy Facebook and webpages. Stephen is currently the 2020 Chair for the Committee of Veterinary Technician Specialties. He has served as the President for the Society of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians, Vice President for the California RVT Association and member at large for the National Association of Veterinary Technicians in America. He was also a column coordinator for one of Natures journals and is the primary editor for a textbook on cannabis therapy being published by Springer Nature.

Past President:

Phillip Sullivan, MLAS, RVT, VTS- LAM, RLATG

Phillip is currently the veterinary services manager at Duke University Medical Center. He has over 15 years in the veterinary field ranging from general practice, oncology, emergency, and laboratory animal medicine. Phillip graduated from the veterinary technology program at Northern Virginia Community College, he then went on to earn his bachelor degree in biology from George Mason University, and his Master of Laboratory Animal Science degree from Drexel University. Phillip has a variety of experience in the laboratory animal field including compliance, training, management, facility planning, and starting an animal care and use program from scratch. Phillip is the past-president of the Academy of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians and Nurses and served as the inaugural president of the Academy.


Chrystal Montgomery, BA, RVT, VTS-LAM, RLATG

Chrystal is a Project Management Coordinator for the CMF at Nationwide Children’s Hospital and has worked in research for 20yrs working with mice, rats, dogs, chinchillas, frogs, swine, and non-humane primates. She graduated from Columbus State with a Veterinary Technology degree in 2000. In 2014, she received her BA in Business Management with a specialization in Leadership Management Chrystal has been a speaker at both the district and national AALAS levels as well as served as TBR at her district AALAS level and attended the National AALAS Leadership training.  She is a member of the Society of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians and currently is the president for the Academy of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians and Nurses and serves on the Exam Committee.

President Elect:

Victoria Elam, CVT, VTS-LAM

Victoria is a Research Specialist in Ned Kalin’s Lab at the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health-Psychiatry Department and has worked as a veterinary technician for over 40 years in a variety of positions such as the military, private practice, consulting, academia and research. Since 2003, she has worked with non-human primates, providing surgical/imaging anesthesia support and behavioral coding.   Victoria graduated in 1978 from Walter Reed Army Institute of Research (WRAIR) in Washington D.C., serving 4 years in the military as an AHT where she was in charge of the military working dog program, calvary horse health, wildlife rehabilitation and also clinical duties. In 1988 she became a CVT in the state of Wisconsin where she served as the President of the Wisconsin VTA in 2001.  As WVTA President, she was responsible for representing the organization to persuade the state legislature the need to institute continuing education requirements for CVT’s to maintain their licenses.  Victoria traveled to China several times from 2007-2010 providing training and consultation in non-human primate anesthesia on a collaboration project for Parkinson’s desease.  She is one of the founding members of The Society of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians (SLAVT) where she held the office of secretary.  Victoria was also part of the organizing board members of  The Academy of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians and Nurses (ALAVTN), where she served as a member at large and currently is serving as the President Elect and Webmaster.


Mark Sharpless, MBA, Juris Masters, CMAR, VTS-LAM

Mark has been the Animal Care Operations Manager at the Emory University Yerkes National Primate Research Center Field Station facility since 1998.  He has more than 30 years of research animal facility operations and management experience.  In addition, Mark is actively involved in several professional organization focused on animal welfare.  He also engaged in public education and outreach activities regarding laboratory animal science.  He is a faculty member at Eastern Virginia Medical School in the Masters of Laboratory Animal Science program where he teaches Facilities Management.  Mark earned a Master’s in Business Administration degree from the University of Georgia and a Juris Master’s degree from The Emory University School of Law.  His undergraduate degrees focused on animal health science and veterinary technology management. His areas of special knowledge and expertise include animal welfare, regulation and compliance, animal husbandry and care, veterinary technology, and animal research facility management and operations.  He serves on the Emory University IACUC and has attained the designation of VTS-LAM.  Mark currently serves as National AALAS District 4 Trustee and Treasurer for the The Academy of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians and Nurses.

Member At Large:

Holly Stallkamp, RVT, RLATG, SRT, VTS- LAM

Holly serves as the Veterinary Training Coordinator and Veterinary Technical Support Services Supervisor for Laboratory Animal Medical Services (LAMS) at the University of Cincinnati.  She graduated with an Associate in Applied Science degree in Veterinary Technology from University of Cincinnati Raymond Walters College in 2002.  Her career in research started in 2004 when she joined Laboratory Animal Medical Services (LAMS) at the University of Cincinnati.  Holly is certified as a Surgical Research Technician (SRT), a Registered Laboratory Animal Technologist (RLATG) and a VTS-LAM.  She is an active member of the Academy of Laboratory Animal Veterinary Technicians and Nurses (ALAVTN) serving as one of the Member at Large positions .

Member at Large:

Summer Boyd,